XXX and Popeye

New Zealand spinach. Maori spinach. Tetragonia implexicoma.

Tetragonia implexicoma. Maori spinach. In my garden is just green but this is what it looks like near the penguin hospital because it gets heaps more sun. Photo courtesy of nzplantpics.com.
Maori spinach. Photo courtesy of nzplantpics.com.

I’ve been growing it in my garden since I first came to New Zealand five years ago. It grows prolifically, it’s not fussed if I forget to water it, or if it gets a touch of frost, and best of all it is delicious both raw and cooked. Unlike some spinach varieties, this one holds its own when it is cooked. Like all leafy greens, it has loads of vitamin C and other vitamins and minerals that are readily available to your body right after eating it.

Yes, Penguin Hospital is the title of this blog so why am I talking about spinach? Because it grows wild at XXX as it does at many coastal areas of New Zealand. But the best part is that when it’s grown near the ocean, the salt air gives the spinach a very salty taste. Yum.

Every time I walk down to the beach I grab a handful to munch. Then when I am struggling back up the very steep hill, I like to think of Popeye and imagine how much stronger my muscles are from eating it. I’m sure the fresh spinach is much better than his canned variety…

Leave a Reply

